Skip to nav Skip to content Skip to footer

Workforce Board looks toward a collaborative future

Christine Quinn addresses the Board.
Christine Quinn addresses the Board.

Chair David Baker Lewis opened Friday’s meeting of the Detroit Workforce Development Board (DWDB) by welcoming new and returning board members.

Focused on keeping the City of Detroit moving forward, the board’s theme remained the same, empowering and advocating to serve the Detroit community. Christine Quinn, Director of the State of Michigan Workforce Development Agency, addressed the board highlighting Michigan as an early implementer of President Obama’s recent Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA).

Pamela Moore at board meeting
Pamela Moore reports that the IRS has approved DESC’s 501c3 public charity status.

Pamela Moore, President and CEO of Detroit Employment Solutions Corporation (DESC), spoke next about the 501c3 public charity status DESC was approved for on July 24. Since then, DESC has received funding from companies such as JPMorgan Chase and Ilitch Holdings. Ms. Moore discussed the many upcoming infrastructure projects, the M1 Rail project, the Olympia ‘District Detroit’ project, the Blight Authority, and the need to develop skilled trade workers.

Director of Program and Service Innovation, Stephanie Nixon, proudly illustrated that DESC has exceeded all established adult/dislocated workers and older youth (ages 19-21) performance outcome goals. Richard Acosta, Director of One-Stop Services, outlined the goals for 2014-2015 which included higher quality employment opportunities, expanding training programs, expanding comprehensive assessments of job search for improved career advisement and job matching, as well emphasizing an increase of the average wage.

DESC would like to thank our policy board; Chair David Baker Lewis, Vice Chair Calvin C. Sharp, Business Manager Mike Aaron, Workforce Initiatives Manager Lena Barkley, Youth Services Director Shawn Blanchard, Mark Gaffney, Consultant Karl Gregory, Andrew Gutman, Al Nelson, Quantez Pressley, Kevin Smith, Larry Steward, Toney Stewart, Dr. George Swan III, Alice Thompson, Robert Troutman and Chris Uhl.

For more details on future board meetings, please click here.