Detroit Employment Solutions Corporation is the fiscal and administrative agent of the Mayor’s Workforce Development Board (MWDB), a body appointed by the Mayor. The MWDB is accountable to the Mayor’s office for the successful delivery of workforce programs across the city of Detroit. DESC also has a Corporation Board, which is responsible for oversight of DESC’s day-to-day operations.

Members of both these boards are as follows:

MWDB Members

Co-Chair – Cynthia Pasky
Strategic Staffing Solutions

Co-Chair – David Meador
DTE Energy

Michael Aaron
Laborers’ Local 1191

Dr. Colleen Allen
Autism Alliance of Michigan

Tonya Allen
The Skillman Foundation

Rick Blocker

John Carter
Chase Bank, N.A.

Matt Cullen
Rock Ventures LLC

Bruce Dall
Motor City Casino & Hotel

David Dauch
American Axle & Manufacturing, Inc.

Alessandro DiNello
Flagstar Bank

Bill Dirksen
Ford Motor Company

Dr. Darienne Driver
United Way of Southeastern Michigan

John Fox
Beaumont Health System

Mark Gaffney
Teamsters Local Union 214

Marita Grobbel
Reading Works

Mike Haller

Dr. Curtis Ivery

John E. James, Jr.
James Group International

Wright Lassiter, III
Henry Ford Health System

Thomas Lewand, Jr.

Conrad Mallet
Sinai Grace Hospital

Mike McLauchlan
Ilitch Holdings Inc.

Jean Meyer
Ascension Michigan

Faye Nelson
WK Kellogg Foundation

Mark Reuss
General Motors, NA

Bill Robinson
Bureau of Service for Blind Persons

Andra Rush
Rush Trucking

Calvin Sharp
Penske Corporation (Retired)

Michelle Sourie Robinson
Michigan Minority Supplier Development Council

Toney Stewart
Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters and Millwrights Local 687

Brig. General Michael A. Stone
Michigan Army National Guard and DMVA

Scott Thiele
FCA Group

Alice Thompson
Black Family Development

Bishop Edgar Vann
Second Ebenezer Church

Frank Venegas
Ideal Group

Dr. Nikolai Vitti
Detroit Public Schools Community District

Carla Walker-Miller
Walker-Miller Energy Services, LLC

Steven White
Energy Infrastructure Solutions, LLC

Roy Wilson
Wayne State University

Nia Winston
Unite Here Local 24

DESC Board

Board Chair – Calvin Sharp
Penske Corporation (Retired)

Michael Aaron
Laborers’ Local 1191

Lena Barkley
CVS Health

Nicole Sherard-Freeman
Mayor’s Workforce Development Board

Don O’Connell
Operating Engineers Local 324

Ric Preuss
IBEW Local 58

Toney Stewart
Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters and Local 687

Alice Thompson
Black Family Development

Chris Uhl
International Finance Fund

Maria Woodruff-Wright
Skillman Foundation

Dannis Mitchell
Barton Malow Company

Ready to Recruit?

Let's Get Started